Kurt's Blog

February 10, 2014

Conference Catchup

Filed under: conferences — Tags: , , , , , — Kurt Häusler @ 11:06 am

So normally I try and write up a bit about the conferences I attend, but I have been a bit slack lately. Since my last post about the play4agile event and the agile coach camp, I have attended 4 interesting events that I would like to share about. I am going to keep it short, partially deliberately, and also because the first two events took place a while ago, and the other two I forgot to take notes for.

In June the exclusive, invitation-only, Kanban Leadership Retreat in Mayrhofen, Austria took place.  This was my first one, and it was amazing to catch up with the world’s leaders in developing and applying the Kanban Method. One of the first sessions was also one of the best. Sigi Kaltenecker and Klaus Leopold talked about their still-in-development ideas about looking not just at Kanban practices but at change and leadership practices in the organisation. For me it was essential to see a list of concrete practices under this topic because concepts like Change or Leadership can tend to be a bit abstract. 

It was also interesting to hear from Dimitar Bakardzhiev about what has been happening in the Theory of Constraints community. He mentioned that they seem to be a lot less scared to talk about money than e.g. the Kanban (and Agile) community. I definitely think we should talk about the financial aspects of knowledge work and product development a lot more.

I saw a case study presentation from Nina Schwab at Tupalo in Austria. They had an innovative approach with a horizontal lane at the bottom for cards to leave the system and travel right to left and reenter the system, which to me could be used to implement the feedback loop required in The Kanban Method. Things learnt could be placed in this lane and flow back into the input queue.

I missed Troy’s session, which might have been a mistake as I heard it was really good.

Some miscellaneous points I noted down include things like:

  • Change should not be a separate initiative, it should be part of the actual day to day work.
  • We can start with the practices, and then move on to more abstract things like values and goals.
  • If were to pay enough direct attention to change and leadership practices Kanban itself may become almost of secondary importance.
  • Kanban is for building learning organisations.
  • The principles and practices are “kickoff” focussed, and less relevant for running systems.
  • I still need to look more into the Toyota and/or Improvement Katas.

I would like to thank my former employer ETECTURE GmbH for funding my participation at the Kanban Leadership Retreat.

 

In August I attended and even spoke at the Agile Lean Europe Unconference in Bucharest. I actually combined it with a family holiday, as the ALE unconferences have an awesome family and spouse program. I attended the one in Berlin in 2011, but missed the one in Barcelona in 2012. It was great to catch up with the agile lean community again.

ALE

I won’t go into too much detail about the sessions I attended as everything is available online. Videos and slides. The highlights for me were the keynotes from Jurgen Appelo  and Joe Justice from Wikispeed, and Vasco Duarte’s #NoEstimates session.

I chose not to take part in the evening social activities as I was enjoying exploring Bucharest with my family. 

I think my talk about Offers and Pricing went well, and inspired quite a bit of subsequent discussion. You can see the slides here:

Offers & Pricing from Kurt Häusler

 

My family and I actually stayed in Romania an extra week where we went to the beach on the Black Sea for a relaxing holiday.

Although I funded my own participation, I think it is important to thank the sponsors for their support.

 

The third conference I need to mention is the Lean Kanban Central Europe that took place in Hamburg in 2013.

Lkce

This was a really well organised (by it-agile) event. Location, food, wi-fi, extra activities were all first rate. It was interesting to see so many people outside the core Kanban community in Germany interested in attending. In previous years I had been to the Benelux / Netherlands versions of the lean kanban conference and they were quite a bit smaller. It was actually kind of weird, but also kind of nice, to see so many people I did not know attending a lean Kanban conference. Could the Kanban Method be crossing the chasm? I hope so, because I really believe in the approach, and hope to work intensively with it in the future.

The top 3 highlights for me were:

The last conference I attended in 2013 was the Agile Cologne 2013 Open Space.

Agile Cologne Original Logo v1 1

I first attended 2 Kanban oriented sessions. The first one was quite interesting, the main theme ended up being clearing up misconceptions about what Kanban is itself. It seems most people thought it was a Scrum-like process for maintenance etc. The idea of it being evolutionary improvement tool was foreign for many people. I think this might have been the session where I decided to stop “correcting” people who have this other view about what Kanban is. It is starting to feel a bit like the emperor’s new clothes when the thought leaders are insisting on one view of what Kanban is, yet the actual community of people out there using it are discovering that to them, jt is something quite different? Which group is correct depends on whether we define words according to a descriptive or prescriptive approach. I have now managed to develop a wider model of what Kanban is in my head, and am more accepting of people using it as a flow-based development or maintenance process rather than an evolutionary change tool. I find it increasingly important to distinguish both approaches, i.e. “Kanban” which could mean a lot of things, and “The Kanban Method”, which really does refer to the evolutionary change approach. I still feel like a bit of a dick when people ask me what Kanban is, and I have to weasily answer it like “Well to me it refers to The Kanban Method, which is ….. however most people use the term to refer to their development or maintenance process which features some or more of …..”. Anyway. The second session was comparing Lean, Agile, Scrum and Kanban, We tried to identify where the overlaps were, and which ideas borrow from with other ones etc. It was a much better discussion the the typical Kanban vs Scrum comparison. The small group actually understood the differences better than usual.

The third session was one I attempted to moderate, based on the topic of #NoEstimates. I thought I did a fairly poor job. I found it especially challenging to introduce the topic, do most of the talking, facilitate the discussion, and write things up on the flip chart. In the future I will concentrate on doing just one of these activities. The fourth topic was supposed to be about different ways of pricing software development I think, and I thought I might be able to contribute quite a bit, but the group seemed to be stuck on the aspects of German contract law relevant for services providers engaged in hybrid projects, or projects that are presented to the customer as waterfall projects, but are developed internally with Scrum. This is fair, because this is what most German service providers are concerned with, but I found it boring. If you aren’t prepared to think outside the box, if you aren’t prepared to move beyond hybrid projects, or move beyond fixed price (which can work) or T&M (which is poisonous for knowledge work) projects, or move beyond the old German “Service Contract”s or “Work Contract”s, then of course your options are limited. I know the classic argument is something like “but our customers are only prepared to work in this way”, then I don’t know why you are looking for alternatives. Alternatives exist, but you have already declared your customers won’t accept them so in your case it is easy, you have to work according to how the customer demands! But for those of us lucky enough to have customers that have also had problems with classical approaches in the past and are also looking for working in a better way,  then there are plenty of really effective ways to control and manage risks, and avoid disappointment, misunderstanding and hidden costs. My secret is basically to stop looking for “Agile contracts”, that path only cycles back to where you are now. Look instead for end-to-end agility, radically different pricing models, and THEN write up a suitable contract, or maybe you will discover that contracts are not even always required, or at least they might start to have a different purpose other than declaring what to do when things go wrong. Sounds radical doesn’t it, but the agile community actually used to be radical. 

Anyway, I doubt I will be attending as many conferences in the future as I have in the past, the ROI is starting to seem noticeably less than it used to be. I will be attending the Frankfurter Entwicklertag next week, where Bob Martin will be delivering the keynote. I was lucky enough to win a free ticket to that thanks to Andrena who held a draw at the christmas meet up of the Agile Rhein-Main user group. So big thanks to Andrena for the ticket! I will try and be disciplined enough to write a blog post about the event soon after it.

Apart from that, I don’t plan to attend any conferences this year except when I can speak about something I have actually done that will be interesting for the community. I don’t want to talk about untested theory anymore, and I don’t think the community wants to hear about it either. Hopefully I will be lucky enough to work with some genuinely interesting ideas as part of my job and can report my findings at a conference.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

