Kurt's Blog

October 23, 2008

.NET Open Space 2008

Last weekend I drove up to Leipzig for the first .NET Open Space in Germany. It was great. I originally heard about the thing on the alt.net mailing list, and nearly decided not to go when I found out it was just a .net thing (without the alt). I am glad I did go. It wasn’t as technology or tool focussed as I thought, and the discussion oriented nature of the event helped ensure that.

On the first day I attended two fishbowls; a TDD one and a DDD one. I even jumped into a chair and rambled on about technical debt at one of them. In the afternoon I attended two presentations, “Presentation Zen” and “Getting Things Done”. The second day I attended another fishbowl about functional programming (it was supposed to be about F# but no one there actually knew much about F#). I was kind of surprised that not many people had much experience with functional programming. What do they teach at uni these days? It turned out I ended up doing a fair bit of talking at that one thanks to a LISP project I did one time. I hope I didn’t come across as a functional fanboy, I am actually more of an object bigot that has seen first hand that functional programming does have it’s uses. (I must admit it did inspire me to look into functional programming a bit more) I followed that session by attending a live demo of TDD and pair programming.

I had to leave at midday as I had a long drive ahead of me.

I didn’t leave empy handed though. The sponsors provided everyone with coffee cups, and a table was laid out with books and a few software packages that we could put named slips inside if we wanted to take them home. I put all five of my slips in the handful of English books that were there. I ended up getting a couple that no one else wanted: Behind Closed Doors and Ship It! They both look pretty interesting so I am pleased with that.

There are some flickr photos here, and other reports about it here.

Oh and it also inspired me to start blogging again. Lets see if it sticks.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

